External Teaching Awards

3M National Teaching Fellowship

Internal Deadline: January 15, 2021
Send the electronic submission to Alicia Kemp (ahitchc2@uwo.ca) in the Office of the Vice-Provost (Academic Programs).

STLHE Deadline: February 1, 2021

In 1986, the Society for Teaching and Learning in Higher Education (STLHE) and 3M Canada partnered to recognize exceptional contributions to teaching and learning in Canadian post-secondary education.

Awards are open to any individual currently teaching at a Canadian university or college regardless of discipline or level of appointment. The selection committee will look for independent evidence that the nominee's teaching is very highly regarded both by peers and students, as well as evidence that the nominee has played a leadership role in the improvement of university teaching and learning beyond his or her own courses at the candidate's institution and perhaps beyond. A letter of support from the Provost must accompany nomination documentation.

The Alan Blizzard Award

The purpose of the Alan Blizzard Award is to recognize Canadian university collaborative teaching and learning as designed, implemented, and assessed by a faculty group, a course team, a department, an instructional development centre, a committee of colleagues from different departments, faculties, or universities working together on a common teaching project. The Award is open to groups of two or more individuals, at least one of whom must be currently teaching at a Canadian university, regardless of discipline or level of appointment.

Award winners receive the following:

  • $2,000 for registration and travel to attend STLHE’s Annual Conference.
  • Recognized and awarded a certificate at the Conference Awards Ceremony.
  • Publication in CELT (Collected Essays on Learning and Teaching) and on the Society's Web site.

Apereo Teaching and Learning Award (ATLAS)

ATLAS is an annual global award presented to people who "demonstrate innovative teaching and learning" using Apereo products. The major goals of the award are to

  • "promote excellent pedagogy and innovation in teaching and learning"
  • "create a community of educators who want to share teaching and learning practices"
  • "encourage greater faculty involvement in the Apereo community"

The Apereo Foundation is a global network of higher education institutions and partners that collaborates on the creation of open source software for teaching, learning, and research. Western is a member of the non-profit Apereo Foundation and uses some of its products.

Each of the winners will be recognized for their use of the Sakai CLE, Karuta, Xerte, OAE, and/or Opencast, for teaching and learning, at the Open Apereo Conference. Details of their winning entries will be shared at the conference.

D2L Innovation Award in Teaching and Learning

This award recognizes innovative approaches that promote student-centered teaching and learning at the post-secondary level. The award is open to instructors, both nationally and internationally, who are currently teaching at a post-secondary institution, regardless of discipline, level, or term of appointment; however applications will only be accepted in English or French. Candidates need not be members of STLHE to apply.

Award winners (up to five per year) receive the following:

  • Up to $2,200.00 to offset the registration and travel costs to attend the Annual STLHE conference and an Award Recipients retreat the day before the conference
  • Two year membership in STLHE
  • Certificate of Recognition

Ontario Confederation of University Faculty Association (OCUFA) Teaching and Academic Librarianship Awards

Each year OCUFA recognizes outstanding teachers and academic librarians in Ontario universities through its Teaching and Academic Librarianship Awards. Since 1973, OCUFA has presented 432 awards. The recipients are selected by the OCUFA Teaching and Academic Librarianship Awards Committee. Approximately 7 awards are presented.


  • Teaching, in the context of the OCUFA awards, embraces virtually all levels of instruction – graduate and undergraduate teaching, continuing education, and faculty development. Similarly, proficiency in teaching may extend well beyond the classroom, the laboratory, or the faculty member’s office. Activities such as course design, curriculum development, organization of teaching programs, and other significant forms of leadership are often important contributions to the instructional process. Those who excel in any of these are eligible for the OCUFA Teaching Awards.
  • Academic librarianship, in the context of the OCUFA Awards, embraces all aspects of librarianship that contribute to the scholarly achievement of all members of the university community. Activities such as development and delivery of services, provision of educational materials, collection development and management, and other contributions to academic librarianship are important to the intellectual functioning of the university. Those who excel in any of these are eligible for an OCUFA Academic Librarianship Award.

Ontario Undergraduate Student Alliance Teaching Award

The Ontario Undergraduate Student Alliance Award for Teaching Excellence recognizes educatiors who excel at unlocking the potential of Ontario's young people. Selected by students as an example of teaching excellence, this award recognizes educators who engage their students in the process of learning and discovery by helping them to develop the thinking and learning skills that form the foundation of a high quality educational experience.

eCampusOntario Expressions of Interest for Digital Content

eCampusOntario has released its call for Expressions of Interest in support of the Government of Ontario’s Virtual Learning Strategy.

Depending on the project type, maximum funds available range from $25000 to $200000. The Virtual Learning Strategy emphasizes projects that involve collaboration between institutions and are created for system-wide benefit.

Western faculty, librarians, and staff interested in submitting a 4-page Expression of Interest in the category of Digital Content will follow an internal process of review, feedback, and approval before submitting to eCampusOntario. The internal deadline for submissions is February 1; however a draft submission Expression of Interest of Digital Content Proposals are due January 25 and will be returned with feedback by January 28.