Teaching Award Information

Western Awards for Excellence in University Teaching


Detailed information on Western-specific awards for excellence in teaching, including the Edward G. Pleva, Angela Armitt, and Marilyn Robinson.

External Teaching Awards

award winners

Information on applying for selected national and provincial awards for excellence and innovation in teaching.

Faculty-Specific Teaching Awards

Faculty of Arts and Humanities


Faculty of Engineering


Faculty of Health Sciences


Faculty of Information and Media Studies


Faculty of Law

Richard Ivey School of Business

  • Carol Stephenson Excellence in Executive MBA Teaching Award
  • David G. Burgoyne Teaching Award
  • Dean's Commendation for Teaching
  • Lawrence G. Tapp Excellence in Teaching Award


Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry


Faculty of Science


Faculty of Social Science

Graduate Student Teaching Awards

Application DEADLINES for annual Awards

Month Award

October 20, 2023 (Internal)

November 15, 2023 (External)

3M National Teaching Fellowships

January 15, 2024

Edward G. Pleva Award for Excellence in Teaching

Angela Armitt Award for Excellence in Teaching by Part-Time Faculty

Marilyn Robinson Award for Excellence in Teaching

Western Award for Innovations in Technology-Enhanced Teaching

Vice-Provost (Academic Programs) Award for Excellence in Collaborative Teaching

Vice-Provost (Academic Programs) Award for Excellence in Online Teaching and Learning

February 15, 2024

D2L Innovation Award in Teaching and Learning

March 1, 2024

Fellowship in Teaching Innovation Award

March 8, 2024

OCUFA Teaching and Academic Librarianship Awards

No application necessary

University Student's Council Teaching Award of Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching


We offer individual consultations for teaching award applicants. Please contact ctl@uwo.ca for more information.